A last look at the old Barnes

Henri Matisse, Le bonheur de vivre, 1905-6, Oil on canvas.  175 x 241 cm.  In the collection of the Barnes Foundation.
Henri Matisse, Le bonheur de vivre, 1905-6, Oil on canvas. 175 x 241 cm. In the collection of the Barnes Foundation.
(Barnes Foundation)

The New York Times gives an interactive final tour through the Barnes Foundation, the amazing collection of Impressionist, post-Impressionist, and early modernist art that was displayed in a neoclassical home in Merion, Penn., until June. Pharmaceutical tycoon Albert C. Barnes (1872-1951) created the museum in suburban Philadelphia in 1925.

His pioneering collection of works by the likes of Cézanne, Renoir, Matisse, Picasso, Modigliani, Prendergast, Glackens, Demuth, and Seurat was hung salon-style and interspersed with metalwork, African sculpture and more, reflecting his very personal vision for the museum which he intended primarily as a study center.

Barnes stipulated that no picture in the collection could be lent, sold or moved from his "wall ensembles." He created a charter and strict bylaws.

In 2004, a judge overturned Barnes' wish to keep the collection intact and unmoved. The ruling allowed the foundation to relocate into Philadelphia's Center City. A heated controversy continues over the decision.

Some laud an expanding "Museum Mile" of cultural institutions in the city center with the Barnes collection ensconced in a more accessible building near the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The centrally-located, four-times larger building will entice more visitors to come see the $25 billion art collection which will keep the foundation afloat financially, say supporters.

Others decry the loss of the founder's vision for viewing the art and the experience of his home museum, among many other reasons, as detailed in the 2009 documentary film "The Art of the Steal."

View the New York Times' digital tour for a peek into the old Barnes before it closed. The new building on Benjamin Franklin Parkway, designed by Tod Williams and Billie Tsien, is scheduled to open in May 2012. 

More News Feed Headlines

400 Viking Artifacts Stolen from Museum in Norway

  • August 21, 2017 14:08

Some 400 objects of Viking origin were stolen from a museum in Norway sometime between Aug. 11 ...

Read More

William Langenheim (American, born Germany, Schöningen 1807-1874) and Frederick Langenheim (American, born Germany, Schöningen 1809-1879), Eclipse of the Sun, 1854, Daguerreotype.  The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Gilman Collection, Gift of The Howard Gilman Foundation, 2005.

A Peek at Rare 1854 Solar Eclipse Images, and a Full Look at the Friedman Collection of Photography

  • August 17, 2017 14:12

The Metropolitan Museum of Art owns the only surviving images of the solar eclipse that occurred ...

Read More

Sandycombe Lodge, 1814, W.  B.  Cooke after William Havell - Tate Britain.

After $3.5 Million Renovation, JMW Turner's Picturesque Cottage Opens to Visitors

  • August 16, 2017 20:21

In 1813 England’s great landscape painter JMW Turner built a small villa, Sandycombe Lodge, on a ...

Read More

Staff members evaluate the recovered de Kooning.

Stolen De Kooning Painting Returned to Museum After 3 Decades

  • August 15, 2017 12:55

A Willem de Kooning painting that had been stolen more than 31 years ago from the University of ...

Read More

Related Press Releases

Related Events from ArtfixDaily Calendar

 

ArtfixDaily Artwire