Ingrid Weyland wins the 2021 Rhonda Wilson Award

  • BROOKLYN, New York
  • /
  • September 16, 2021

  • Email
Image: © Ingrid Weyland/courtesy of Klompching Gallery, New York.

The Klompching Gallery is pleased to announce, that Ingrid Weyland is the winner of the 2021 Rhonda Wilson Award, for her series Topographies of Fragility.

Ingrid Weyland brings a unique and original approach to the subject of environmental concerns in art. Through her lushly colored photographs of Argentinian landscapes—Topographies of Fragility—she comments upon the decline and deterioration of the environment through a physical form of paper destruction in her photographs. Her work displays an authorship which is quiet and understated, and employing a well suited marriage of form with subject.

“Ingrid Weyland has taken a critical existential threat and expressed it in an elegant and innovative visual solution. Disturbing while mysteriously beautiful.”—Jerry Takigawa, Photographer/2020 Rhonda Wilson Award recipient

“Ingrid’s work is undeniably powerful and technically well executed, timely and engaging. It is one of those rare bodies of work that can stand on aesthetics alone while also successfully presenting a call to action."—Douglas Marshall, Marshall Contemporary

The recipient of the 2021 Rhonda Wilson Award wins the following financial, networking and professional development support. 

$1,000 - donated by Wendy Watriss/Fred Baldwin
$1,000 - donated by Darren Ching/Debra Klomp Ching
2022 Photolucida Portfolio Review Scholarship - donated by Photolucida
5 Hours Mentorship - donated by Debra Klomp Ching
£1,000 Production Costs - donated by Genesis Imaging
1 year of promotion - via the Rhonda Wilson Award Instagram account

The Klompching Gallery gives thanks to its international judging panel: Douglas Marshall (Marshall Contemporary), David Moore and Martha Moore (Pictura Gallery/FAR Center for Contemporary Art), Mark Sealy MBE (Autograph), Fiona Sweet (Ballarat International Foto Biennale), Jerry Takigawa (photographer/2020 Rhonda Wilson Award recipient).

The Rhonda Wilson Award is sponsored by Wendy Watriss and Fred Baldwin, Darren Ching and Debra Klomp Ching, Photolucida, Genesis Imaging. 

Rhonda Wilson MBE (1953 – 2014)

Rhonda Wilson MBE, was one of the UKs champions of the photographic arts, and was the creative force behind the Rhubarb–Rhubarb International Festival of the Image. Rhonda died from suicide on Thursday November 6, 2014, following a debilitating term of depression. She was a dear friend of many across the international photography community, including the owners of the Klompching Gallery. The Rhonda Wilson Award was founded by Darren Ching and Debra Klomp Ching in honor of her memory and legacy.

Darren Ching
Klompching Gallery
+1 212 796 2070

  • Email

ARTFIXdaily Artwire